You are here

When the Truth Unravels (Hardcover)

When the Truth Unravels Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jul 22 8:15am
(YOUNG ADULT HARDCOVER)

Description


Paper Towns meets Thirteen Reasons Why­ —at prom. A riveting story told through four best friends’ point of view.

Last month, Elin tried to kill herself.

She knows she’s lucky that her parents found her in time. Lucky to be going to prom with her three best friends, like any other teen. Like it never happened. And if she has anything to say about it, no one but her best friends will ever know it did.

Jenna, Rosie, and Ket will do anything to keep Elin’s secret—and to make sure it never happens again. That’s why they’re determined to make prom night feel just like it would have if this past spring hadn’t been as eventful. This could be the night that convinces Elin that life can go back to what it was.

Except, at prom, Elin goes missing.

Now it’s up to her friends to find her. But each of the girls has her own demons to face. Ket is being blackmailed by an ex. Rosie is falling in love for the first time. And Jenna . . .

Jenna is falling apart.

And no one, not even her best friends, knows why.

Heart-wrenching and utterly impossible to put down, When the Truth Unravels follows four friends as they confront their greatest hopes and darkest secrets during one life-changing night.

About the Author


RuthAnne Snow was born and raised in Kaysville, Utah. She was a sorority girl in college and social activities director in law school—which was a lot like being back in the sorority. She loves traveling, watching horror movies, and baking. She lives in Salt Lake City with her husband and dogs. When the Truth Unravels is her first novel.

Praise For…


“A definite page-turner about teenage navigation through life; recommended for fans of John Green’s books, Jenny Torres Sanchez’s The Fall of Innocence, or Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why.” —School Library Journal

"Snow masterfully navigates the complexities of female friendships in this powerful and engrossing debut. Intricate storytelling, nuanced protagonists, and a profound examination of adolescence and healing, this novel will claw at your heart and leave you breathless. Flawless, stunning, and unputdownable." —Whitney Taylor, author of Definitions of Indefinable Things
"When the Truth Unravels is a captivating, fast-moving exploration of the complexities of female friendship, and a brutally realistic yet sensitive depiction of depression and its intertwining consequences. On a night that's supposed to be about partying and having a good time, tension builds and buzzes just below the surface as each character wrestles with unspoken revelations. Snow handles the story's heavy themes with impressive skill and gentle insight and nails the pressures, uncertainties, and politics of high school." —Jill Baguchinsky, author of Mammoth

"The four girls at the center of When The Truth Unravels are prickly, complicated, and headstrong—and I adored all of them. RuthAnne Snow's debut takes a quintessential high school experience—prom—and fills it with detours and secrets that make it impossible to put down. Across two timelines and multiple POVs, Snow paints an authentic, sensitive picture of depression and shows us how friendship is a delicate but resilient thing. I wish I could hand this to every teen girl trying her best and fearing she isn't enough. (She is.)" - Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone 

"This is the YA friendship book you’ve been waiting for. Part mystery, part romance, and all authentic, Snow delivers a page-turner that masterfully handles some of the most sensitive topics teens deal with today." —Natasha Sinel, author of The Fix and Soulstruck

"Readers will be swept away into the narrative, which, sprinkled with first-world problems, also deals with the effects that mental health issues can have on relationships, and the #metoo movement. Ultimately, these are characters to root for, and readers will hope for them to come through their ordeals. A thrilling debut for fans of Dhonielle Clayton, Brandy Colbert, and John Green." —Booklist

"When the Truth Unravels is a captivating, fast-moving exploration of the complexities of female friendship, and a brutally realistic yet sensitive depiction of depression and its intertwining consequences. On a night that's supposed to be about partying and having a good time, tension builds and buzzes just below the surface as each character wrestles with unspoken revelations. Snow handles the story's heavy themes with impressive skill and gentle insight and nails the pressures, uncertainties, and politics of high school." —Jill Baguchinsky, author of Mammoth

"The four girls at the center of When The Truth Unravels are prickly, complicated, and headstrong—and I adored all of them. RuthAnne Snow's debut takes a quintessential high school experience—prom—and fills it with detours and secrets that make it impossible to put down. Across two timelines and multiple POVs, Snow paints an authentic, sensitive picture of depression and shows us how friendship is a delicate but resilient thing. I wish I could hand this to every teen girl trying her best and fearing she isn't enough. (She is.)" - Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone 

"This is the YA friendship book you’ve been waiting for. Part mystery, part romance, and all authentic, Snow delivers a page-turner that masterfully handles some of the most sensitive topics teens deal with today." —Natasha Sinel, author of The Fix and Soulstruck

"Snow masterfully navigates the complexities of female friendships in this powerful and engrossing debut. Intricate storytelling, nuanced protagonists, and a profound examination of adolescence and healing, this novel will claw at your heart and leave you breathless. Flawless, stunning, and unputdownable." —Whitney Taylor, author of Definitions of Indefinable Things
Product Details
ISBN: 9781510733572
ISBN-10: 1510733574
Publisher: Sky Pony
Publication Date: January 8th, 2019
Pages: 312
Language: English