You are here

Sadie Hoagland | American Grief in Four Stages

This event is free and open to the public and will take place at the bookshop.

Sadie Hoagland, will read from and sign her new short story collection, American Grief in Four Stages

American Grief in Four Stages imagines trauma as a space in which language fails us and narrative escapes us. These stories play with form and explore the impossibility of elegy and the inability of our culture to communicate grief, or sympathy, outside of cliché.

One narrator, for example, tries to understand her brother’s suicide by excavating his use of idioms. Other stories construe grief and trauma in much subtler ways—the passing of an era or of a daughter’s childhood, the seduction of a neighbor, the inability to have children. From a dinner party with Aztecs to an elderly shut-in’s recollection of her role in the Salem witch trials, these are stories that defy expectations and enrich the imagination. As a whole, this collection asks the reader to envisage the ways in which we suffer as both unbearably painful and unbearably American.

Places in the signing line are reserved for those who purchase a copy of American Grief in Four Stages from The King's English.

GET YOUR COPY NOW! Pre-order your signed copy of American Grief in Four Stages today, by either calling the store at 801-484-9100 or ordering online. Please specify if you will be attending the event and if you want your book personalized.

Event date: 
Thursday, November 21, 2019 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
The King's English Bookshop
1511 S 1500 E
Salt Lake City, UT 84105
American Grief in Four Stages: Stories Cover Image
ISBN: 9781949199215
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: West Virginia University Press - October 2nd, 2019