Dorothee Kocks

Author Type: 

Dorothee Kocks is the author of three books, the historical novel The Glass Harmonica; the multimedia ebook Such Were My Temptations, which recreates some of the true history behind the novel; and the non-fiction Dream a Little. For half her life, Dorothee took a traditional academic path. She earned a PhD in American Studies from Brown University, wrote a well-respected scholarly book, and climbed the tenure ladder at the University of Utah.

Then she picked up an accordion for the first time. Music inspired a life change that entailed traveling the world in search of old instruments, funded by various day jobs including a stint as a kitchen hand in Alaska. Dorothee’s writing has been called “rich” and “evocative.” Reviewers are praising The Glass Harmonica as an “unforgettable saga” that “perfectly combines the novelist’s and historian’s skills.”

Like the characters in her book, Dorothee has led something of an itinerant life. Born in Germany, she now lives at the foot of the Wasatch Range in Salt Lake City, Utah, where she worked as an assistant professor of U.S. history at the University of Utah. She has been the recipient of numerous artists’ residencies, and is the founder of Beware The Timid Life™ publishing .

The Glass Harmonica By Dorothee E. Kocks Cover Image
ISBN: 9780986469411
Availability: Usually ships to store in 2-3 Days
Published: Beware the Timid Life - June 1st, 2011